Running 2015

Since I got my Garmin Forerunner 305 GPS receiver in 2011, it has been recording thousands of waypoints from my runs. And like most runners, I have a few routes that I run most of the time, so when I view the map of a run in Garmin’s Training Center software, most look pretty much them same. Every now and then, however, I add some variation, resulting in more interesting pictures.

Sweat to Pictures

Over the course of a few months, I ran for a total of about three hours, expending about 3000 kcal (according to the software; no idea how accurate that estimate is) to create the raw GPS data for these images.

With the GPS data loaded into the software, I took a screenshot of each run as it was mapped. I then removed all street labels from the map, leaving just the image of the waypoints. Next, I aligned all images such that the first waypoint was at the same location in each one. Finally, I cropped them all to the same size and arranged the nine most interesting shapes in the nice 3×3 matrix you see below.

Running Art Full

These images also make a pretty animated GIF. But as it was too annoying to have on this page and look at all the time, so you’ll have to click this link to see it.

Leave a Reply

