Random Names

Sometimes I hear or think of a phrase and think to myself, “wow, that would be a really cool name for X”. Well, here’s a brief list of those names and the things I think they would be perfect for.

The Faulty Stove

This would be a cool name for a restaurant and/or bar. Its logo would feature one of those old-timey cast-iron stoves (such as a potbelly stove) with black smoke coming out at the side. The restaurant itself, though, would not actually contain such a stove. I believe that would be a health code violation.

Tears of Joy

I’m not quite sure why, but I think this would make a great name for my debut album. Note: I do not plan to release an album. Ever.

Sierra Hotel

If The Faulty Stove went well, and I decided to expand in the hospitality business by opening a hotel, it would be called Sierra Hotel. There’s isn’t actually anything about the various meanings of Sierra that I particularly like. However, if you spell out my initials using the NATO Phonetic Alphabet, you would get Sierra Hotel and I think that would be cool.

Osmium and Wolfram

In the book The Tortilla Curtain by T. Coraghessan Boyle the Mossbachers have twin dogs named Osbert and Sacheverell. I’m not sure why, but that made me think of the elements Osmium and Wolfram (another name for Tungsten). These are two the elements making up filaments in incandescent light bulbs that gave the lighting manufacturer Osram its name. This is why I think they would make great names for twin dogs. Note: I don’t like dogs and will probably never have one, let alone two.

Conclusion

I really enjoy thinking up names for things. It’s one of my favorite perks at work, as the person in charge of a new development project is also the one picking a name for it. I actually have a long list of possible names that I add to whenever I hear something cool. Too bad that there a lot more cool names than I have time to do new projects.

Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll ever have a need to name a restaurant, album, hotel or twin dogs. So feel free to use those names for your own restaurant/album/hotel/twin dogs. But if you do, send me a picture. And a share of the profits. Actually, you can keep the picture.

Leave a Reply

