New Home Office Is Now Complete

When I got my Surface Pro two months ago to replace my seven-year old laptop, it kicked off a gradual updating of my home office. With the arrival of a Dyson Air Multiplier today, the transformation is now complete and I couldn’t be happier with the results.

Dyson Air Multiplier completes my Home Office

I know it’s a lot of stuff. And at first, you might think this contradicts my plans to make my life simpler and reduce clutter. But I actually use every single item on that desk at least once a week. Also, the docking station, monitor, keyboard and all that other stuff on the right isn’t really mine, but these things are just for when I work from home. I simply need to plug in my laptop and I’m ready to go (or rather stay. And work). I also some room on the right where my Xbox One will go.

As more and more people in the vicinity have been getting Wi-Fi, the signal strength of my own Wi-Fi has been deteriorating steadily. So I’ve been forced to run a wire from my router to my desk and hook up my computer, Xbox and docking station to a switch. Originally, I wanted to run an HDMI cable from the docking station to my main monitor, but it only has two HDMI inputs which are already occupied by my Surface and the Xbox. I ended up connecting the docking station via VGA, which even in Full HD delivers a surprisingly crisp image. This has the advantage that every device is always connected to its display(s), and the displays automatically pick up the signal from the device I’m using. No more fiddling with cables. I love it.

Here’s a look behind the scenes/screens where everything is hidden away.

Behind The Scenes

Leave a Reply

