Reading up on User Experience Design

I am currently in the process of coming up with user experience design guidelines that we are going to use for all our in-house Windows client applications going forward. Because we are writing for Windows and I want our applications to fit in well with the rest of the system, I am going to base my guidelines heavily on the Windows User Experience Interaction Guidelines (PDF) from Microsoft. I am deviating from these guidelines where I feel that the kind of data-heavy applications we are writing primarily requires a different approach.

However, I also want to include input from the other sources and learn about basic design principles that aren’t necessarily limited to designing the user experience of a software product. So far, I have found the following resources quite helpful:

Leave a comment, if you know any other books or web sites that have valuable information I should consider for my own guidelines.

Leave a Reply

