I don’t Get the Music Industry

The other day I came across this great lip dub of Harvey Danger’s Flagpole Sitta by the folks at Connected Ventures. Here is an article from the Washington Post about the lip dub phenomenon.

It seemed like a fun song, so I wanted to buy it from Amazon. As it turns out, amazon.de did not have the song as an MP3 download, amazon.co.uk did, however. I’m not sure why they don’t offer it in Germany. Since the marginal cost of putting these things in their online shop should be close to zero, it should be in Amazon’s and the music industry’s best interest to make all of their content available for purchase online, even if there is little demand for the individual items (cf. long tail).

Anyway, since it’s a download, I figured I might just as well buy the songs from Amazon’s UK website. Except they did not want to sell it to me because of “geographic restrictions”. I suppose their arrangement with the music industry for offering downloads doesn’t allow them to sell in Germany.

The funny thing, though, is that they were perfectly happy to sell me the physical CD containing the same music they couldn’t sell me as a download. Somebody please explain the logic behind that to me, because I don’t get it.

1 thought on “I don’t Get the Music Industry”

  1. The music and movie industry is insane. They are archaic forms of business who refuse to change and are doing everything in their power to turn the fans into criminals.

Leave a Reply

