Happy 15th Birthday, Delphi!

Today marks the 15th anniversary of the launch of Borland Delphi, which took place on 14 February 1995 at the Software Development Conference. Back in my high school years, Borland’s Turbo Pascal was the first programming language I learned, so it was no big leap to use Delphi for my personal projects in later years. Coming from a Pascal background, the learning curve was not very steep, so I could leverage my existing skills very well to eventually make a career out of it. To this day, I do most of my-to-day development in this language and while I am not religious about the programming languages I use, given the fact that some 90% of my programming experience has been with Delphi, this language has a special place in my heart.

Let me therefore take this opportunity to congratulate the Delphi team on continuing to evolve and improve this fine programming language. Thanks for 15 great years – of which I have actively used Delphi for about eight – and let’s hope for many more to come.

If you are interested in the history of Delphi (or Turbo Pascal), check out the Museum section on Embarcadero’s developer site. Over the past weeks, Chris Hesik of the Delphi team has also been posting design documents from the early days of Delphi to his blog. For Delphi’s 10th birthday, Marco Cantu had compiled pictures from the Delphi launch event in 1995.

Upcoming Series of Delphi Techniques and Tips

Even though Delphi has traditionally been used for database and GUI programming, most of my projects now are server applications that process data of some kind, often highly optimized for maximum data throughput. I have collected some material on techniques to use Delphi for such high performance data applications. Originally, I had meant to submit this as an article to the Embarcadero Developer Network. However, since I haven’t found the time to write it up in one coherent, insightful piece, I might use this blog to post it in parts, maybe one article now and then about some techniques or other tips that I have found useful in my development work. So stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

